Goodbye 2016…

A YEAR OF:

  • Stress
  • Exams
  • AS Level results
  • University visits/applications
  • Radio presenting
  • Big achievements
  • New friendships online
  • Travel
  • Lots of laughs
  • Concerts
  • Starting new hobbies
  • Finding out more about myself
  • Seeking new music
  • Reading
  • Cinema trips
  • Volunteering
  • Photography
  • Blogging
  • Saving money
  • A new family member
  • Communicating across multiple platforms
  • Helping others

The list above is just a mere portion of what my life has consisted of in 2016 and I have to say although it certainly hasn’t been the best year, there are many things I can take away from it that I wouldnt want to change. We’ve all been shook by Brexit and Trump but is that all we are going to remember 2016 for?

As the year comes to a close, I think we should all reflect on looking  at how the year has affected us as individuals. What have YOU done close to home that has made YOU a better person, or helped YOU achieve dreams that you never even thought were possible?

I have to say my greatest achievement of 2016 is starting radio presenting. I’ve wanted to follow a journalism career for quite a few years now, however I was never quite sure of what path within the industry to take. I set my heart on magazine/print journalism as I knew I loved to write but as I gained more knowledge of that sector it interested me less and less; that is until I took matters into my own hands. I began by trying to get in touch with newspapers and radio stations that were a little more well known where I live but still local – this eventually proved to be a dead end as no one wanted to even have a small chat with me about where I wanted to go and take my career.

I then I contacted a different local radio station about possible voluntary work experience that I could gain before I go to university and they got back to me almost instantly. Although not well known, I can say that they are the nicest team of people I have met and I feel privileged to help present there. We’re a small team playing sound out to the borough but we all love what we do and it’s certainly swayed my thinking into wanting to follow broadcast journalism more than print.

As you can probably tell I am incredibly happy to be in this position and can’t wait to see what 2017 brings for the station. I hope that the year is also one that will allow me to grow and firmly find my feet before I hopefully head off to university. What will you be saying goodbye to from 2016?

dsc_9314Above is our new family member – her name is Lola and I love her to pieces ♥

Upload complete,

LittleLadyAli

Leave a Reply

